Princeton Office
Lawrenceville Office
Hamilton Office
Call Now 24/7

Mercer County

Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Over 100 Years of Combined Experience
  • Practice Exclusively in DUI & Criminal Defense
  • Former County & Municipal Prosecutors
  • Decades of Case Success Stories

Leaving the Scene of an Accident

West Windsor NJ Leaving the Scene of an Accident Arrest

Mercer County Traffic Ticket Lawyer

The Law Offices of John F. Marshall represent clients charged with leaving the scene of an accident throughout Mercer County, New Jersey, including Hamilton, Trenton, Princeton, East Windsor, Lawrenceville, and Hopewell. A charge of leaving the scene of an accident is extremely serious and can have severe, long-term ramifications. If you are convicted of Leaving the Scene of an Accident you will subjected a loss of license, DMV points, and potential jail time depending on the circumstances. Our experienced traffic defense attorneys welcome the opportunity to assist you and we are ready to fight on your behalf. If you or a loved one has been charged or arrested for leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey, please contact our traffic violations defense trial team at (609) 683-8102.

New Jersey Leaving the Scene of an Accident Motor Vehicle Statute

N.J.S.A. 39:4-129

A charge for leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey can be classified as a motor vehicle violation or as a criminal violation. The motor vehicle statute governing traffic violations for leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey is N.J.S.A. 39:4-129, which provides in pertinent part:

“(a) The driver of any vehicle, knowingly involved in an accident resulting in injury or death to any person shall immediately stop the vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close thereto as possible. Any person who shall violate this subsection shall be fined not less than $2,500 nor more than $5,000, or be imprisoned for a period of 180 days, or both.

In addition, any person convicted under this subsection shall forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State for a period of one year from the date of his conviction for the first offense and for a subsequent offense shall thereafter permanently forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this State.

(b) The driver of any vehicle knowingly involved in an accident resulting only in damage to a vehicle, including his own vehicle, or other property which is attended by any person shall immediately stop his vehicle at the scene of such accident or as close thereto as possible. Any person who shall violate this subsection shall be fined not less than $200 nor more than $400, or be imprisoned for a period of not more than 30 days, or both, for the first offense, and for a subsequent offense, shall be fined not less than $400 nor more than $600, or be imprisoned for a period of not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days or both.

In addition, a person who violates this subsection shall, for a first offense, forfeit the right to operate a motor vehicle in this State for a period of six months from the date of conviction, and for a period of one year from the date of conviction for any subsequent offense”.

Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in New Jersey

The penalties for leaving an accident in New Jersey in violation of N.J.S.A. 39:4-129 can be:

Causing Damage Only – First Offense:

  • $200 to $400 fine
  • Up to thirty (30) days in jail
  • Six (6) months license suspension

Causing Damage Only – Second Offense:

  • $400 to $600 fine
  • Thirty (30) to Ninety (90) days in jail
  • One (1) year license suspension

Causing Personal Injury or Death:

  • $2,500 to $5,000 fine
  • 180 days in jail
  • One (1) year license suspension
  • Permanent license forfeiture for a second offense

Robbinsville Leaving the Scene of an Accident Defense Attorney

The skilled trial attorneys at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall have years of experience representing clients who have received a summons or who have been arrested on a wide variety of traffic violations. If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey, we can help you develop a defense strategy and balance your concerns. The most serious penalties can include exposure to significant jail time, requiring the involvement of a defense attorney experienced in both traffic law and criminal defense. Our law firm includes former New Jersey prosecutors, who are familiar with the nuances of the legal system and can ably assist you in crafting a productive and successful defense strategy. If you or a loved one has been arrested for leaving the scene of an accident, please contact us for a free initial consultation at (609) 683-8102. Our experienced defense lawyers will help you understand the legal options available to you so that you can make an informed decision concerning your case.

103 Carnegie Center, Suite 300 Princeton NJ 08540
By appointment only

3150 Brunswick Pike #300 Lawrenceville, NJ 08648

3525 Quakerbridge Rd, Suite 903 Hamilton NJ 08619
By appointment only

We serve clients throughout Mercer County, New Jersey — including Trenton, Hamilton, Princeton Borough, West Windsor, East Windsor, Lawrence Township, Robbinsville, Hightstown, Princeton Township, Ewing and Hopewell — and surrounding areas, including Hunterdon County and Burlington County.

If you have been charged with a crime in Mercer County, New Jersey, it is in your interests to talk to an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. For a free consultation, you can call our firm 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. This web site is designed for general information only. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your specific situation. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.
No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey.