Second Degree, Third Degree & Fourth Degree Shoplifting Charges
Lawrence NJ Third Degree Shoplifting Attorney
When someone is arrested for shoplifting merchandise with a value of $200 or more in Lawrence Township, they face an indictable shoplifting charge. This is a significantly different offense from a disorderly persons offense (i.e. value of less than $200) because the violation is a felony, carries the possibility of state prison and cannot be dealt with at the Lawrence Township Municipal Court. If you were charged with a crime of the second degree, third degree or fourth degree for shoplifting in Lawrence NJ, you cannot afford to take selection of an attorney lightly. You are exposed to severe penalties that can have a life altering collateral consequences such as, for example, revocation of your Green Card or Visa for shoplifting. Hiring a skilled defense lawyer will arm you with the tools to reach a favorable resolution of your case.
Marshall & Bonus is a longstanding criminal defense firm that has been serving Mercer County for decades. Attorneys on our team have not only resided in the county, served as prosecutors and appeared in Lawrence Township for well over twenty years, but also have an extensive track record of favorable outcomes for individuals facing a third degree crime for shoplifting in the venue. Jonathan F. Marshall or another attorney on our staff is available 24/7 to provide a free consultation. Contact our Lawrence Township Office now at 609–683–8102 to speak to a lawyer immediately.
Fourth Degree, Third Degree or Second Degree Shoplifting Offense in Trenton New Jersey
The New Jersey Shoplifting Law is set forth at N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11. This law makes shoplifting an indictable criminal offense when the merchandise stolen has a value of $200 or more. The following are some of the important aspects of shoplifting offenses within this category.
- Grading. A theft of merchandise with a value of at least $200 but less than $500 is a fourth degree crime. If the property stolen has a value of at least $500 but less than $75,000 is a third degree crime. It is a second degree crime to shoplift merchandise valued at $75,000 or more.
- Penalties. The penalties for fourth degree shoplifting include a fine of up to $10,000 and up to 18 months in prison. Third degree shoplifting results in a maximum fine of $15,000 and up to 5 years in prison. A second degree shoplifting offense carries 5-10 years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000.
- Jurisdiction. Authority to decide a second, third or fourth degree shoplifting case rests with the Mercer County Superior Court.
Hamilton NJ Fourth Degree Shoplifting Lawyer
Although a fourth degree crime for shoplifting is the lowest felony grade under the law, it can clearly cause significant complications in your life. A conviction can, in fact, land you in prison for 18 months. Consequences as serious as these require representation by a skilled lawyer. The attorneys at Marshall & Bonus welcome the opportunity to serve you in this role. We have over a century of combined experience to utilize on your behalf, including years handling Lawrence shoplifting charges at the Superior Court in Trenton. Call us anytime 24/7 at 609–683–8102 to speak to an attorney immediately.
We serve clients throughout Mercer County, New Jersey — including Trenton, Hamilton, Princeton Borough, West Windsor, East Windsor, Lawrence Township, Robbinsville, Hightstown, Princeton Township, Ewing and Hopewell — and surrounding areas, including Hunterdon County and Burlington County.