Simple Assault Defense Lawyer
Charged with Simple Assault in East Windsor
In New Jersey, you can be arrested of simple assault for injuring someone, attempting to injure someone or physically menacing someone in a fight. The Mercer County assault defense lawyers at The Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall represent clients charged with simple assault and other charges such as harassment and terroristic threats throughout Mercer County, New Jersey, including in Princeton, Trenton, Hamilton, and West Windsor. Simple assault is a serious criminal charge that can result in jail time, probation, community service and a permanent record. Our experienced criminal trial team has over 100 years of combined legal experience and we are ready to assist you through your case with accurate legal advice and assistance. Please do not hesitate to contact us today for a free initial consultation at 609-683-8102.
New Jersey Simple Assault Law
Simple assault is a criminal offense in New Jersey and is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1, which provides in pertinent part that:
A person is guilty of a simple assault if he or she:
(1) Attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
(2) Negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
(3) Attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
New Jersey Simple Assault Statute
Simple assault is a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey. It is a petty disorderly persons offense if the assault was committed in a fight or in a scuffle entered into by mutual consent. For a physical act to be considered assault, the victim need not have sustained injuries; the mere threat of bodily injury can result in a charge of simple assault. In rare circumstances – when the intended victim is a police officer or a public official – simple assault can be classified as an indictable felony charge, punishable by a maximum sentence of up to five (5) years in jail. More commonly, simple assault can arise out of a bar fight, street fight, or domestic violence incident. In the vast majority of these cases, simple assault will be classified as a disorderly persons offense. If convicted of simple assault in New Jersey, you face a permanent criminal charge on your record, up to six (6) months in county jail, fees for court costs, a court order of restitution, an order to perform community service, possible suspension of your driver’s license, and a fine of up to $1,000.
Mercer County NJ Simple Assault Lawyers
Know your legal rights. If you or a loved one faces a charge of simple assault in New Jersey, you need to know your legal options. The criminal defense lawyers at the Law Offices of Jonathan F. Marshall will work aggressively and vigorously on your behalf, thoroughly questioning every aspect of your case and seeking a decisive, positive, successful outcome. The vast majority of times we are able to achieve an outright dismissal or get the charge downgraded to a municipal ordinance, resulting in no criminal record. Our experienced criminal defense team includes former county and municipal prosecutors with detailed knowledge and an intricate, skillful understanding of what goes on inside the prosecutor’s office. Our knowledgeable Mercer County criminal defense lawyers are here to help you. If you or a loved one has been charged with simple assault in Mercer County, please take advantage of this opportunity to contact our criminal attorneys for a free initial consultation anytime at (609) 683-8102. One of our trained trial attorneys is available to speak to you and address your concerns immediately.
We serve clients throughout Mercer County, New Jersey — including Trenton, Hamilton, Princeton Borough, West Windsor, East Windsor, Lawrence Township, Robbinsville, Hightstown, Princeton Township, Ewing and Hopewell — and surrounding areas, including Hunterdon County and Burlington County.