Princeton Office
Lawrenceville Office
Hamilton Office
Call Now 24/7

Mercer County

Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Over 100 Years of Combined Experience
  • Practice Exclusively in DUI & Criminal Defense
  • Former County & Municipal Prosecutors
  • Decades of Case Success Stories

Driving While Suspended 39:3-40

Robbinsville Driving with a Suspended License Charge

The traffic ticket lawyers at The Law Offices of John F. Marshall represent clients charged with Driving While Suspended throughout Mercer County, New Jersey, including in Robbinsville, West Windsor, Trenton, Ewing, Hamilton, and East Windsor. Police officers and prosecutors in New Jersey see traffic offenses such as driving with a suspended license as serious crimes, often electing to prosecute them vigorously. Choosing the right driving while suspended defense lawyer to represent you may be the most important decision you ever make. The criminal defense lawyers at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall are experienced in handling these types of driving while revoked cases. If you or a loved one has been arrested for driving with a suspended license in Mercer County New Jersey, please contact our traffic charge attorneys at our office located in Princeton at (609) 683-8102.

New Jersey Driving with a Revoked License Law

N.J.S.A. 39:3-40

A traffic violation for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, which provides in pertinent part:

“No person to whom a driver’s license has been refused or whose license or reciprocity privilege has been suspended or revoked, or who has been prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license, shall personally operate a motor vehicle during the period of refusal, suspension, revocation, or prohibition. No person whose motor vehicle registration has been revoked shall operate or permit the operation of such motor vehicle during the period of such revocation.”

Penalties for Driving While Suspended in New Jersey

The penalties for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey according to N.J.S.A. 39:3-40 are as follows:

First Offense:

  • $500 fine
  • Up to six (6) months additional license suspension

Second Offense:

  • $750 fine
  • Up to six (6) months additional license suspension
  • Mandatory one (1) to five (5) days in county jail

Third Offense:

  • $1,000 fine
  • Up to six (6) months additional license suspension
  • Mandatory ten (10) days in county jail

New Jersey Driving with a Suspended License Statute

Driving with a suspended license in New Jersey is a serious offense, sometimes carrying severe penalties, including heavy fines and jail time. It is also incredibly inconvenient to lose your license for a prolonged period of time because it negatively impacts, among other things, your ability to get to and from work. Additionally, a conviction for driving with a suspended license will lead to costly insurance surcharges, insurance points, and a permanent record on your driver’s abstract. And if you are convicted of driving while suspended or revoked because of a DWI (driving while intoxicated), you will be subject to increased penalties that include an extended suspension of your license and a mandatory sentence of up to ninety (90) days in county jail. This is why it is important that you retain an experienced Driving While Suspended Defense Attorney who will undertake early measures to get the charges against you dismissed or downgraded.

Hamilton NJ Driving While Suspended Lawyers

The experienced trial attorneys at the Law Offices of John F. Marshall are here to help you, ready to explain your rights and legal options when facing a serious traffic charge. You want a reputable defense lawyer who can help you through this difficult legal situation. At the Law Offices of John F. Marshall, our experienced Driving While Revoked Attorneys understand the unique challenges that come with defending a charge of driving with a suspended license. As former county and municipal prosecutors we have a deep and intricate understanding of the legal system so we know exactly what needs to be done to defend a traffic case and we will provide you with powerful representation and work diligently on your behalf. Our attorneys will aggressively defend you, and will seek to downgrade your case to a charge that carries no loss of license or pursue an outright dismissal. If you or a loved one has been arrested for driving with a suspended license in New Jersey, please contact our traffic defense attorneys for a free initial consultation at (609) 683-8102. We are available to speak to you 24 hours a day, and we welcome the opportunity to discuss the legal options that are available for your defense.

103 Carnegie Center, Suite 300 Princeton NJ 08540
By appointment only

3150 Brunswick Pike #300 Lawrenceville, NJ 08648

3525 Quakerbridge Rd, Suite 903 Hamilton NJ 08619
By appointment only

We serve clients throughout Mercer County, New Jersey — including Trenton, Hamilton, Princeton Borough, West Windsor, East Windsor, Lawrence Township, Robbinsville, Hightstown, Princeton Township, Ewing and Hopewell — and surrounding areas, including Hunterdon County and Burlington County.

If you have been charged with a crime in Mercer County, New Jersey, it is in your interests to talk to an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. For a free consultation, you can call our firm 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. This web site is designed for general information only. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your specific situation. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.
No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey.